Directory for Degree Program & Professionals in Health Education

Find programs, medical faculty and colleagues in health education on the HEDIR (since 1992).

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Description:

The University of North Carolina Wilmington offers a BS degree in Public Health Studies.  All students complete a core of 8 public health courses in addition to coursework in one of three concentrations:  community health education, pharmacy global health, unhealthy or pre-clinical health.  All students must also complete an internship and a capstone course.  Students completing the community health education or global health concentrations are well prepared for entry level positions or for progressing into graduate school.  These students are also eligible to sit for the national exam to become a Certified Health Education Specialist.  Students completing the pre-clinical concentration are ready to apply to clinical preparation programs such as medicine, dentistry, physician assistant, pharmacy, nursing, etc.  The UNCW Public Health Studies program has completed the self study and site visit for accreditation by the Council for Education in Public Health (CEPH).  When accredited the program will be one of the first four standalone baccalaureate programs in the USA to receive such a designation.  Additional information about the program can be found at:  UNCW Public Health Studies Program

Degree Programs:
  • U: Public Health (BA/BS)
Dept. Name: Public Health Studies
Dept. Phone: 910-962-4268
Website: Visit Us Online
Street Address:
153 Trask Hall, 601 S. College Rd., North Carolina, USA 28403-5956
Dept. Chair / Program Head: Dr. Randall Cottrell, D.Ed., MCHES
Dept. Chair / Program Head Email: cottrellr@uncw.edu
Dean's Name: Founding Dean, Charles Hardy
Dean's Email: hardyc@uncw.edu
Randall Cottrell, D.Ed., Professor  cottrellr@uncw.edu Kerry Whipple, Ph.D., Associate Professor   whipplek@uncw.edu Hannah Catalano, Ph.D., Assistant Professor   catalanoh@uncw.edu Lenis Chen Edinboro, Ph.D., Assistant Professor   edinborol@uncw.edu Jorge Figueroa, Ph.D., Instructor   figueroaj@uncw.edu

created by our friends at: 

hpcnnewesthplive2016